top of page

French or Italian Romance?


Wine&flower romance

ON MY WAY to Switzerland, crossing an ocean to meet with my boyfriend, musing about the destination and purpose of my trip, I thought it is rather amusing that Switzerland sits between the two most romantic countries in the world. Who wouldn't like to be serenaded while riding on a gondola? Who wouldn't like to pause for a kiss facing the Eiffel tower. Oh so much romance!


I arrived safe and sound to a warm hug and happy smiles in Switzerland. When dinner time came my boyfriend asked me as he was choosing which bottle to open: do you prefer French or Italian? I laughed and told him what I’d been thinking about on the way over.


The question is, which do I prefer?


The romance of Italy that is portrayed in the stereotypes is always a display of machismo and masculine pride, rough and sensual. I think this is reflected in the wine I have had from Italy: it is round, bold, and roughly earthy, with more blatantly natural tannin. Bold and uncomplicated, a girl could like that. But….


I think the Romance (and wine) I prefer is French. The French stereotype of courtship is more subtle, more complex, and although less sure, it promises long years of slow burning passion. I think the wine from France is like this too, more complex, subtle flavors, even when the wine is a strong bold Burgundy. And like a life long love affair, the taste of the wine on your tongue and in your mouth lasts and develops.


We chose French that evening, starting a lovely holiday together, just in time for Valentine's Day!










bottom of page