top of page

Can you do Wine on St-Patty?


Wine on St-Patty


IT IS ST-PATRICK'S WEEKEND and we all know that many of us might go cheer along the parade or head to a pub with friends. Last time I celebrated was when I was 16 years old: the first and only time. Standing outside in the cold and drinking until you can’t feel your nose waiting for the St-Patrick parade to pass was not my cup of tea. I skipped the following years and I don’t feel like I missed out on much. The parade is quite joyful and everyone watching from the sidewalk are the most kind but I prefer being comfortable at home and cheering in my green-and-white striped socks.

So, what does this mean for wine lovers. Well ideally, we can enjoy a glass of wine quietly and watch the parade from home with a few friends. Anything to dodge the festive chaos and blocked streets, this weekend you can catch me at home with a glass of wine, chicken wings, and a party hat!


The ideal wine for this weekend is the "Pyrène Pays de Cocagne". A little more upscale then your typical dépanneur wine and conveniently available at SAQ. The acidity is quite refreshing and you will definitely taste the spiciness of the Syrah. Remember to drink your wine out of a St-Patrick marked glass!


Photo Credit: follow @zaphod0602 on Instagram








bottom of page