top of page

Spag & Wine Night in Lausanne


Spag & Wine


THE COUNTDOWN HAS BEGUN: Only three (3) more days before I leave Switzerland, the land my boyfriend calls home now. Being in a long distance relationship means a lot more travelling. A lot more travelling means even more food adventures!


Tonight, I cooked a delicious Ricardo inspired spaghetti sauce, filled with expensive yet affordable Swiss vegetables. To accompany tonight’s meal, the boyfriend pulled out a nice Spanish bottle from his new European wine collection: Marques de Ciria Reserva 2011 from the Rioja.


You can find it at any local grocery store like Coop or Migros. I really love fruity-easy-to-drink wine, but also occasionally enjoy a more bold taste which this wine a more daring choice. The taste was strong and acid, but it worked well with the sweetness of the spaghetti sauce. I would suggest letting it breathe before serving because it taste much better as the meal was progressing.


The Marques de Ciria may not be available in Québec, but the selection of Spanish wine if quite generous. I can't wait to try a few when I get back in Montréal.




bottom of page